Current Lab Members

Biography
Edit
Alexey V. Terskikh, Ph.D. (terskikh@sbpdiscovery.org)
Principal Investigator/centerandlabs/neuroagingstem/terskikhlab/PublishingImages/alexey.png

Dr. Terskikh earned his Ph.D. at the University of Lausanne, Switzerland in 1996, in the laboratory of Prof. J.-P. Mach, where he designed a new type of high-avidity recombinant molecule called Peptabody. He received postdoctoral training with Prof. Irving Weissman at Stanford University, where he discovered a common genetic program between hematopoietic and neural stem cells. Dr. Terskikh holds an Assistant Professor position in the Brain and Mind Institute at EPFL in Lausanne, Switzerland (2002-2006) and was recruited to the Burnham Institute for Medical Research as Adjunct Assistant Professor in 2002, as a full time Assistant Professor in 2006 and as a Associate Professor in 2012.





___________________________________________________

 
Chun-Teng Huang, M.S. (cthuang@sbpdiscovery.org)
Viral Vector Core/Lab Manager/centerandlabs/neuroagingstem/terskikhlab/PublishingImages/Huang.JPG

Chun-Teng Huang earned his M.S. degree in microbiology at San Diego State University. With four years of research experience in virology, he was recruited by Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute as manager of viral vector core facility in 2008. After developing lenti-, retro-, adeno-, AAV, VSV, and Sindbis viral vector services, the core is now focusing on integrating CRISPR/Cas9 technology in viral vector platform as well as supporting translational research.

 
Chen Farhy, Ph.D. (cfarhy@sbpdiscovery.org)
Postdoc/centerandlabs/neuroagingstem/terskikhlab/PublishingImages/Chen%20Farhy.jpg
Graduated with a B.Sc. in Biology from Israel Institute of Technology – Technion. M.Sc. and Ph.D (2012) in Medical Sciences from the Tel Aviv University, Israel; specializing in retinal development and the molecular networks which regulate retinal progenitor cell proliferation and differentiation.  Joined the Terskikh lab in 2013, currently working to develop high throughput screens for selective embryonic neurotoxicity, cancer stem cell differentiation and environmental regulation of hippocampal adult neurogenesis.
 
Jacopo Baglieri, Ph.D. (jbaglieri@sbpdiscovery.org)
Postdoc/centerandlabs/neuroagingstem/terskikhlab/PublishingImages/Jacopo%20Baglieri.jpg
Jacopo received his PhD in Biological Sciences from the University of Warwick, United Kingdom in 2012, where he studied the mechanisms of protein translocation across biological membranes in bacteria and chloroplasts. He then moved to UCLA for postdoctoral studies where he worked on gene repair strategies for Duchenne muscular dystrophy. Jacopo joined the Terskikh lab in October 2014 and is currently investigating organic compounds that can increase adult neurogenesis in vitro and in vivo.
 
Nicole Simonetti (nsimonetti@sbpdiscovery.org)
Research Assistant ll/centerandlabs/neuroagingstem/terskikhlab/PublishingImages/nicole.JPG

Nicole graduated in 2012 with a B.S. in Biology from San Diego State University. She is currently pursuing her M.S. in Cellular and Molecular Biology, also at SDSU. Nicole joined the Terskikh lab in June 2013 through the CIRM Bridges program. Her graduate research is focused on the role of stem-cell associated transcription factors in tumorigenesis of glioblastoma multiforme.

 
Lisa-Marie Bellovich (lbellovich@sbpdiscovery.org)
Research Assistant Coordinator (RAC) II/centerandlabs/neuroagingstem/terskikhlab/PublishingImages/Lisa_Marie.jpg
Lisa-Marie joined the Terskikh Lab in May of 2014 as a Research Assistant Coordinator (RAC). She attended San Diego State University. In 2012 she attended the University of San Diego where she secured her Paralegal Certificate, Summa Cum Laude.
 

Alumni

Alejandro Amador, Ph.D. (aamador@sanfordburnham.org)Use SHIFT+ENTER to open the menu (new window).
Postdoctoral Associate
Flavio Cimadamore, Ph.D. (flavioc@sanfordburnham.org)Use SHIFT+ENTER to open the menu (new window).
Postdoctoral Associate
Encarnacion Ma Navarro Peran, Ph.D. (eperan@sanfordburnham.org)Use SHIFT+ENTER to open the menu (new window).
Postdoctoral Associate
Mats Nilbratt, Ph.D. Use SHIFT+ENTER to open the menu (new window).
Postdoctoral Associate
Connie Chen (cchen@sanfordburnham.org)Use SHIFT+ENTER to open the menu (new window).
Undergraduate, Laboratory Assistant
Ksenia Genedva (kgnedeva@sanfordburnham.org)Use SHIFT+ENTER to open the menu (new window).
Ph.D. Student
Dawn Waters, MD Use SHIFT+ENTER to open the menu (new window).
Visiting Researcher
Ashley Ginbey, B.S. (aginbey@sanfordburnham.org)Use SHIFT+ENTER to open the menu (new window).
Mary Spinharney (mspinharney@sanfordburnham.org)Use SHIFT+ENTER to open the menu (new window).
Jimmy Guo B.S. (jguo@sanfordburnham.org)Use SHIFT+ENTER to open the menu (new window).
Marianna Jolly (mjolly@sanfordburnham.org)Use SHIFT+ENTER to open the menu (new window).
Research Assistant I
Payal Gala (pgala@sanfordburnham.org)Use SHIFT+ENTER to open the menu (new window).
CIRM Intern
Stephanie Zapata (szapata@sanfordburnham.org)Use SHIFT+ENTER to open the menu (new window).
Intern